BROWNSVILLE (KFXV) — A man escapes police upon his arrest this afternoon in Brownsville.

The fugitive was originally arrested for the possession of an unlicensed weapon. According to officials, he was found with a gun upon his arrest but once he was handcuffed, the situation became a little more complicated.

With DPS helicopters roaming the area in search of the fugitive along with K9 officers, the search came to an end on a rural road in southeast Brownsville.

While details of the motive for his arrest have not yet been released, it is important to mention that Texas laws do allow anyone 18 years or older to buy a rifle, shotgun, ammunition or any firearm as long as you have a valid ID and no criminal record.

But do not forget that you must get a license to lawfully obtain the weapon and prevent an arrest by officials.



  • Carry Permits can be issued to anyone at least 21 years-old or an active member of the US military.
  • Carry Permits are only issued after completion of a state-certified handgun training.

Who is denied carry permits?

  • Anyone with a criminal record
  • Anyone who is not of ‘sound mind’
  • Anyone who is chemically dependant
  • Anyone who is delinquent in paying child support
  • Anyone who is the subject of an order of protection (restraining order)

The cost of a carry permit is $140.00 except for Senior Citizens who can get it for $70.  You get the permit through the Department of Public Safety (DPS).

Texas’ carry permits are honored by the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia and Wyoming.

Texas honors carry permits from the states of Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington and Wyoming.

What is the Castle Doctrine?

The castle doctrine is a self-defense law that permits deadly force when a person is attempting to defend himself from the deadly force of an attacker in his home, vehicle or workplace.  This also applies to attackers who are committing kidnapping, murder, sexual assault or robbery.  This part of the doctrine is known as the “stand your ground” clause.

Special Provisions

  • Texas firearms law has a preemption which prevents cities or counties from enacting gun laws that are more restrictive than the state law.
  • Open carry is allowed in Texas, however you are required to have a LTC (License to Carry).
  • Campus carry is allowed in Texas, but the guns must be concealed.  Private colleges can opt-out of this policy.

Current Restrictions on Guns

  • Gun bans: None.
  • The waiting period for gun purchases: None.
  • Licenses or permits required to buy guns: None.
  • Registration of guns required? No.

Here is a list of places where gun possession is off-limits regardless of having carry permit:

  • Schools
  • Courtrooms
  • Election polling places
  • Racetracks
  • Airports
  • Sporting events
  • Establishments where the primary business is the sale of alcohol for on-premises consumption.
  • Any establishment posting signs barring guns.

(For more information: Wikipedia – Gun Laws in Texas)